The Worst Thanksgiving Dish (SFWG)

Peas

Yeah, that’s right, peas.

As a kid I hated peas.

I hated them steamed and I hated them boiled.

I detested them in casseroles and refused to eat any soup containing the disgusting pea.

Peas are an ugly green color and if closely examined most of them are dented. 

The skin is ripped on many peas and the pea meat is exposed.

My salvation when challenged with a meal which served peas was my cowboy boots.

Many people are unaware of the amount of peas the standard sized kids’ cowboy boot can hold.  Many were the time my boots carried the offending vegetable from the table so I could dump the peas where they belonged.

One word of caution; do not wear your best socks if planning to transport peas in your boot.

My worst Thanksgiving meal was the time I had to wear shoes for the dinner and peas were served.

Luckily, we had a dog.

The dog ate my peas.

I was excused from the table.

The dog threw up the peas.

I got grounded. 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “The Worst Thanksgiving Dish (SFWG)

  1. LaRene Chambers

    Oh, that made me chuckle!!!!

    I actually hated peas also as a little girl. I remember one day, I had to only be 4 or 5….I would not eat my peas!!! No way!!!! So mom made me go down into the ‘pit’ a cellar under the house, there were wooden stairs that I sat on and sat on and sat on…I would not eat them!!!! (No, I can not remember what happened after that…I really don’t think I actually ate them, I’m thinking mom finally gave up and I got to come up out of the dungeon)

    Date: Sat, 4 Jan 2014 21:47:05 +0000 To: l-chambers@hotmail.com

  2. nofrillswrapping

    I have to wonder if there’s a club for people who hate peas. I have two brothers who won’t eat them for love or money.

  3. terry harris

    Helen loved this. I think it was because she hates cooked peas too.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

