Sitting in my Doctor’s Office

I was sitting in my doctor’s office.  His nurse had stopped by and told me he was running late and I should be patient.  It had been ten days since the biopsy.  How patient did he expect me to be?

I was sitting in my doctor’s office and sitting is very loosely defined.  Sitting means I was standing and watching children play across the street.  Sitting means I flipped through a four month old magazine that had an article about, about, about someone.  Sitting means pacing and sitting is also defined as playing with those metal balls that hang on a thin line and swing back and forth.

In short, sitting, as defined here, means anything I could do to keep my mind off of why I was sitting in the doctor’s office in the first place.

Why couldn’t he just tell me on the phone?  I mean, were you ever sent to the principal’s office because you weren’t running in the halls?  Did the librarian ever call you in to thank you for returning a book on time?  There could only be one reason he had his nurse call and schedule the appointment, right?

I was sitting in my doctor’s office and focused so hard on not being scared out of my mind, he startled me when he walked in.

He sat down across from me, looked me in the eyes, “We need to discuss treatment options.”

No, I have never had to sit and wait in such a situation.  I hope and pray I never have too.  But approximately 200,000 women in this country will have such a meeting this year and they will be told they have breast cancer.

Each year, 200,000 women are expected to develop breast cancer and each year roughly 40,000 are expected to die from it.  Outside on skin cancer, breast cancer continues to be the most common form of cancer for women.  To put the number in perspective, since the beginning of the war in Afghanistan, we have lost just over 3000 soldiers.  3000 soldiers lost over an eleven year period against 440,000 mothers, sisters, girlfriends and daughters lost over that same span of time.

My friend Helen was one of those 200,000 in 2006.  She is one of the most courageous women I know.  We have joined with the Breast Cancer Research Foundation in an effort to raise money to find a cure for this disgusting disease.

Starting on Feb 14, 2014 my new book, “The Ghost in the Mini Skirt” will be listed on Amazon.com for $3.99.  One dollar from every download will be donated to the BCRF.  This drive for donations will run from 2-14-14 to 2-14-15 and since 200,000 women will be diagnosed during that time, our goal is one dollar for each woman.

Raise $200,000.00 over a one year period?  Sounds daunting, but it doesn’t have to be, not if we all do our part.

Over this coming year, Helen and I will be inviting you to join us.  Buy the book, like the Face Book page “Helen’s Fight” and share it with your friends and family.

Over the year, we will be posting information about breast cancer and the research being done on the “Helen’s Fight” page.  Please like it and you can follow us.

I have three granddaughters and I want them to grow up in a world free of cancer.  Come join us.

You can read Helen’s story and post your own, if you are so inclined.   

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

