Welcome To Kellynch

Somewhere, somehow, at a particular moment, as I go through my day, I notice a sight, I hear a sound or an odor catches my attention.  Without warning, the idea of a story is born.  At first, it may take the mental shape of a daydream, fantasy or just a passing thought.  Sometimes, the image has the strength of a tsunami rushing toward me, collapsing buildings in the process. Other times, the image pesters me and teases, like a dented Styrofoam cup being kicked down an empty alley by the breeze.

No matter how it happens, the end result is that I am sent scurrying to my lap top and if that is not available, I can be found scribbling on the closest sheet of paper.  I have been told that J. K. Rowling started writing the first draft of Harry Potter on napkins in the diner where she was a waitress.  I don’t know if that is true or not, but I can say this, “It should be.”

Once the story starts to take shape, it can be likened to many life experiences.  I have heard it compared to pregnancy as well as the growth of a boil.  The one solid fact is, the story has to come out, one way or another.

So, in a couple of weeks, I will introduce you to my newest work, “Kellynch.”  The story is the continuation of the Jane Austen book, “Persuasion.”  Miss Austen created some of the most beloved characters in the history of literature. Only a handful of us would not recognize the names of “Lizzy Bennet” and “Mister Darcy.”  Equal, in my mind, is the story of Anne Elliot and Captain Wentworth.

For those few who do not recognize the names, allow me to introduce you.  Anne, is a member of the English gentry and Frederick Wentworth, a Lieutenant in the Royal Navy.  He proposes and she accepts, only to be persuaded to change her mind and reject him due to his lack of future.  Their story is one of being reunited several years later and discovering they still have feelings for each other.  Miss Austen’s book ends with the idea of a happily ever after.  My story, “Kellynch” picks up their story three years later.

For the Jane Austen purists, allow me to state, here and now, I remain true to the characters created by Miss Austen.  The couple does not become vampires, nor do they fly to Jupiter or travel through time.  Recently, I saw a movie in which the Lizzie Bennet character was seen riding a Moped.  Artistic license aside, that’s just wrong.

Miss Austen completed the writing of Persuasion in August of 1816.  It was published in December of that year, but Jane didn’t live long enough to see it hit the bookstores.  She died shortly before it came out.  In recognition of her work, “Kellynch” will be available on Amazon, in both Kindle and paperback editions the end of this month.  I hope you will give it a read.

For the time being, examine the cover I intend to use and feel free to comment or critique it.

I am grateful for the support many of you have shown me over the years and hopefully I will not let you down.  If I may ask one favor, if you have read any of my books and you have not posted a review on Amazon, please do.  Amazon likes it and it truly helps a new writer.  All I ask is that you be honest.  Thanks, see you in a couple of weeks.      Kellynch Book cover

Categories: Fan Fiction | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

