“I am what I am,” Popeye

silhouette-7In Hamlet, Shakespeare tells us, “to thine own self be true.”  Today, we crudely say, “do your own thing.”

As I get ready to release my seventh book, a sequel to Jane Austen’s work, “Persuasion,” I have been pondering the advice of the Bard and have decided it’s time to “come clean,” as they say.

I need to become honest with what some of my readers have suspected for some time and, in truth, my characters have known all along.  I have no doubt some, who do not know me as well as they thought they did, will be surprised and maybe even disappointed.  I can only reply to them with, “Shakespeare didn’t say to others be true.”  We must be true to ourselves.

To my family and friends, who are shocked by my revelation, I offer no apologies.  In the words of that famous sailor, Popeye, “I am what I am, and that’s all that I am.”

Therefore, in advance of my newest book, “Kellynch,” I say it loud and I say it proud,

“I am a romance writer.”

There, I said it, I admitted it, and I came out of the closet.

“I am a romance writer.”

I am proud of it.  Romance is the choreography of our lives.  Romance is not just the showing of affection between a couple, though that is what most of us think of.  Romance is much more powerful than that.

We spend the better part of our lives either looking for romance, trying to keep romance, or lamenting the loss of romance.  Romance is all around us.

Have you ever watched a grandparent play “itsy-bitsy spider” with a grandchild?

That’s romance between generations.

Ever wakened on a camping trip and step outside your tent to find dew settled on every blade of grass and it looks like diamonds have been seeded across the meadow?

That’s romance with nature.

I am a romance writer and I will continue to write my books.  Some of them will be “historical,” some will be “murder mysteries,” and some will be “science fiction,” but all of them will be “romance.”

It’s who we are.  It’s what I am.

For those of you who have been waiting, “Kellynch” is going through the final processes, and unless problems are found, will be ready the end of this month.  I hope you read it and I hope you like it.  By the way, it’s a fan fiction regency period romance.

Categories: Fan Fiction | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

